Tchaikovsky
www.tchaikovsky-research.net

Home > Forum > Radio Series on Tchaikovsky

Radio Series on Tchaikovsky

I am a writer who lives in South Africa. For years I have had an intense interest in Mozart, after I had published a novella based on an incident in his life. Last year I wrote a radio series of 13 episodes of 50 minutes each: Mozart - the Man and his Music which was broadcast on the main national Afrikaans radio service in my country.

A member of the public who had heard my Mozart series, asked me why I did not consider Tchaikovsky for my next project - and now as a result of this mere remark I have been involved for the past few months with a similar series on Tchaikovsky. I have bought all David Brown's important studies as well as those of Alexander Poznansky, Vladimir Volkoff's - self portrait , Modest Ilich's Life and letters of Tchaikovsky and many more books and articles.

I have also watched many documentaries and films, and I have listened to countless recordings of his compositions and recently acquired the Diamond Classic Colleciton - the Tchaikovsky Edition of 60 Cds which includes 8 complete operas. And even with my Mozart research I did not find as much information as on the wonderful Tchaikovsky Research page.

And after all this, I realize that I have only scratched the mere surface of what this great man and composer had left us.

When my 13 part radio series: Tchaikovsky - the Man and his Music starts in October I hope I can convey a bit of my knowledge and love of his music to South Africans who might merely know him as a composer of three ballets and of course the 1812.

This program of which I will also be the presenter is in the Afrikaans language.

Philip de Vos
Cape Town, South Africa
17/05/2013 11:42

Dear Mr.de Vos!

can I know what will be the radio that will broadcast in October 2013, your program and the frequency?

Regards.

Antonio Garganese
(Prato-Florence)
27/06/2013 15:39

Dear Mr Garganese