Tchaikovsky
www.tchaikovsky-research.net

Home > Forum > Tchaikovsky facsimile?

Tchaikovsky facsimile?

I have been an ardent listener of Tchaikovsky's music for the past 10 years. In fact I probably own about 85% of his available recorded works. I'm not a classical music aficionado by any means but I love his music. I was wondering if there were any other composer(s) well known or obscure, who are at all similar to Tchaikovsky in style, tone, expressiveness and/or melodic prowess? I have limited knowledge of other composers' music and I want to expand my musical horizons but I'd like to stay within earshot of his musical style if possible. Can anyone help?

Jason Miller

Hello Jason.

Your question is quite far fetching. Many dozen names of well loved composers can be mentioned in response. I invite you to listen to the music of Bizet, Verdi, Gounod, Rossini, and many other of Tchaikovsky's contemporaries.

I would very interested in you reaction to the music by Michael Glinka. Glinka was the founder of what is now known as the Russian music. He was a predecessor of Tchaikovsky, and according to admission by Tchaikovsky and other Russian composers, such as Dargomyzhsky, Borodin, Rimsky-Korsakov, Serov, Cui, Shostakovich, Stravinsky, they all heavily indebted to Glinka.

I can quote such works by Glinka as Jota d'Aragonese, Valse-Fantasy and in particular his greatest work: 5 acts grand opera Ruslan and Lyudmila, which has no recitatives and beautiful tunes follow one another.

A DVD recording of 1995 production of "Ruslan and Lyudmila" by the Mariinski Theatre is available from usual sources (EBay, Amazon, RussianDVD.com etc.). This performance was conducted by Valeri Gergiev with Anna Netrebko in thetitle role.

Alexander Geidelberg

Dear Mr. Miller,